movietalk: the little prince

tumblr_o48otxaZnE1ske259o1_500

Last night I finally got around to watching The Little Prince and, to put it simply, it was life changing.

For those unfamiliar, the original story is told by an aviator who has crashed in the Sahara Desert. There he meets the little prince, a child from Asteroid B-612 who has visited many planets and met a variety of odd adults; he has left behind his rose, whom he loves dearly, to travel through space. The movie follows a similar plot, but is told from the perspective of a little girl with a very strict mother who lives next door to the aviator.

The film itself is one of the most beautiful things I’ve experienced in quite a while. The soundtrack curls inside me and around my heart, moving me completely. I especially love the song Suis-Moi by Camille. I’m also completely in love with the animation. The smoothness of the CGI was nice, but I’m still stunned by the paper-like animation during the story of the little prince. I also adored the scene with the glowing paint, and the glowing stars, because of how incredibly the light was animated.

The timing of where I’m at in life and the watching of this movie somehow (I’d like to think fate was involved) coincided very nicely. I’m almost at the end of university, and I’m struggling to accept the fact that I’m growing up. However, the aviator made a fantastic point: growing up is inevitable, but as long as I remember who I am, including my child-self, then I shouldn’t become one of those grown ups.

Long story short, this movie has reminded me to appreciate who I am, and that I can thrive as an adult by holding on to those parts of me. I’d quite like to live like the aviator.

 

 

Maddy xxx

Leave a Reply

