booktalk: the green mile

Processed with VSCO with t1 presetProcessed with VSCO with t1 preset

My favourite stories often happen to be the saddest.

I am a complete crybaby and scare easily, so The Green Mile is the only Stephen King novel I’ll probably ever read. It is told from the perspective of a man who works at the state penitentiary, and follows the lives of his colleagues and the inmates, including Mr. Jingles, an incredibly talented mouse, and John Coffey, a 6’8 man who has been charged with sexual assault and murder, but has a life-changing gift.

I’ve read this three times, having read it for the first time early last year, and I always forget how it moves me. The characters disgust me more than Dolores Umbridge, make me laugh aloud, and make me want to treat the world with so much love and kindness.

I give this a 99% rating.

 

 

Maddy xxx

Leave a Reply

